Science and Technology


The Department of Science and Technology (DST), was established in 1994 with the objective of promoting new areas of science and technology and to play a focal role for organizing, coordinating and promoting Science and Technology activities in the country. The Department of Science and Technology (DST) was established in compliance to a SADC directive.


To formulate and implement policies and programmes that will promote growth of Science and Technology and create an enabling environment in which technological development will make meaningful contribution to a better quality of life of Basotho hence the Department of Science and Technology acts as a coordinating body-a focal point for government and a liaison point for various public and private Science and Technology stakeholders.


The Department aims to achieve a free, prosperous and progressive economy and society that are sustained through intelligent use of Science and Technology assets through enlightened citizens, corporations and government. To transform Lesotho into a modern state, having enough high skilled, innovative and technically trained personnel with a competitive Science and Technology infrastructure to support a growing and dynamic economy.


To provide guidance and catalytic role that enables the country to reach its long term goal, with particular emphasis on devising strategies that will, by the year 2020, lead Lesotho to a well-established technology, as stipulated in the National Vision Statement


The Department of Science and Technology (DST) offers the following services:
1. To provide assistance for project proposal development
2. To liaise with researchers or innovators with potential funders or institutions that can provide technical support
3. To give innovators a platform to display their innovations
4. To give excellence awards to promote awards to promote innovation and research

Tissue Culture Project

A joint proposal by Department of Science and Technology (DST) Lesotho and the Department of Science and Technology (DST) Republic of South Africa resulted in securing a funding. The Tissue Culture project is hosted at the National University of Lesotho (NUL). The funds were used to buy infrastructure. The infrastructure was the installed in the laboratories at National University of Lesotho.


The Department of Science and Technology is headed by Mr Lefa Thamae. Mr Thamae holds the highest position in the hierarchy of the Department of Science and Technology and as such he is mandated to ensure that the Department implements its scientific mandate. Mr Thamae is in charge of providing scientific leadership and strategic guidance in matters related to research, development and innovation. The main responsibility of the Director is to ensure that the Department meets its obligations, mandate and objectives. Mr Thamae works hand in hand with STI stakeholders to promote and coordinate STI activities.

To be a vibrant information hub, leaders in technology and research moving toward a prosperous, innovative, stable and sustainable democracy and knowledge based society